The Goethe Yearbook

gybThe Goethe Yearbook, first published in 1982, is the flagship publication of the Goethe Society and is dedicated to North American Goethe scholarship. See the contents of past volumes or the entire print run on Project MUSE.

Click here for the latest announcements.

The Yearbook aims above all to encourage and publish original English-language contributions to the understanding of Goethe and other authors of the Goethezeit, while also welcoming contributions from scholars around the world. The book review section seeks likewise to evaluate a wide selection of recent publications on the period, and should be of interest to all scholars of eighteenth-century literature.

Originally conceived as a vehicle for Goethe criticism in English during the Cold War political tensions, when the most prestigious Goethe publication, the Goethe-Jahrbuch, was not available to most Western scholars, the Yearbook subsequently gained the respect of the international community under the editorship of Thomas P. Saine. Under his successors, Simon Richter and Daniel Purdy, the Yearbook went to an annual publication schedule. From 2013 to 2017, the Yearbook was edited by Adrian Daub and Elisabeth Krimmer. The current editors are Patricia Simpson and Birgit Tautz. Sean Franzel is serving as the book review editor. See the current members of the Editorial Advisory Board.

The Yearbook invites submissions in English or German on Goethe, his works, his contemporaries, or the period 1770-1832 in general. All manuscripts should be prepared in accordance with the Yearbook’s style sheet. Manuscript submissions should be no longer than thirty pages. Inquiries or manuscripts should be directed to Books for review should be sent to the Book Review Editor, Sean Franzel, at the Department of German and Russian Studies, University of Missouri, 451 Strickland Hall, Columbia, MO 65211-4170.